Bloodlines Announces Record Store Day Releases

The Birthday Party – Mutiny/The Bad Seed – Double vinyl
The Reels – The Reels – 40th Anniversary red vinyl
Broderick Smith – Suitcase

To celebrate Record Store Day on 13th April, Bloodlines is pleased to announce three exclusive releases to celebrate the day.

The Birthday Party
Mutiny / The Bad Seed (1983)
Double vinyl EP

“A document of the group in utter collapse” was Nick Cave’s appraisal of Mutiny, which stumbled hard on the heels of The Bad Seed as The Birthday Party reckoned with inevitable combustion in 1983. Recorded at Berlin’s Hansa Studios, The Bad Seed was named by historian Clinton Walker as “the definitive Birthday Party record, a cauldron of narrative neo-blues songs devastating for its malignant sparseness.” The work of meticulous focus and sustained atmosphere was immediately subverted by Mutiny: “the songs are utterly dissimilar to each other,” reflected Cave, “because we all knew it was the last record and there was no longer any union within the group.”

The incendiary Melbourne band’s last two EPs were pressed onto a single album in 1989, but now revert to a highly collectible form for this reissue. Pressed on double 180g vinyl from the highly regarded Rainbo Records plant in LA, this Record Store Day release is restricted to one exclusive pressing only.

The Reels
The Reels (1979)
40th Anniversary Edition – red vinyl

Forty years after the joyous, angular synth-pop of ‘Love Will Find A Way’ disrupted the rock-pop status quo of Countdown, The Reels still sound like nothing else on earth. ‘Prefab Heart’ was an instant classic and cemented their name as Dubbo renegades, as Dave Mason and Craig Hooper pushed the poptastic front line of the new wave revolution. The Reels have been cited by rock historian Ian McFarlane as “one of the most original and invigorating pop bands to emerge from the Australian New Wave movement of the late 1970s”.

This unique vinyl EP distillation of The Reels’ game-changing 1979 debut album features both ‘Love Will Find A Way’ and ‘Prefab Heart’, plus four more classic The Reels tracks, all re-mastered by Don Bartley. Pressed on red vinyl, with original artwork re-created by Libby Blainey, this is an indispensable souvenir of a truly pioneering moment in music history.

Broderick Smith
Suitcase (1992)
12” vinyl re-issue

Originally released in 1992, Suitcase broke a nine-year hiatus for former Dingoes front man, Broderick Smith. Lead by the single ‘Snowblind Moon’, and featuring a mighty cover of ‘Tobacco Road’ (with Stax giant Steve Cropper on guitar), it provides a precious stepping stone between his rare solo outings, the most recent of which is the brilliantly reviewed Man Out Of Time.  

On Suitcase, Smith commanded a stellar line-up of musos from Australian rock’s history, including Healing Force, LRB, Mondo Rock, and The Black Sorrows, plus writing credits from Chris Wilson, Nick Smith, and David Hirschfelder.

Pressed on 12” 140g vinyl by PALLAS in Germany, this lost Australian classic is available exclusively for Record Store Day 2019.