DIESEL announces new album ‘SUNSET SUBURBIA’, Out 28 August + new single ‘ON THE INSIDE’ out now

  • Sunset Suburbia – new album coming from Diesel 28 August
  • The lead single ‘On The Inside’ is out now – listen here

Diesel performed ‘On The Inside’ at Sunday night’s State Of Music event

Diesel is thrilled to announce his next album, Sunset Suburbia. Diesel begun the Sunset Suburbia project last year with the release of two Sunset Suburbia EPs, and is now gearing up to release the album on 28 August. From Sunset Suburbia, Diesel has released the single ‘On The Inside’. 

2020 sees Diesel at the top of his game, as he self-isolates at his suburban home in Sydney writing, playing, singing and producing music. After more than 3 decades of recording, Diesel has found the direct route from inspiration to revelation. “I pick up my guitar. Lee [Moloney, his drummer of 18 years] is over there. I play a snippet of the vibe of the song and we start going at it. At some point I’ll make a track with a rough vocal and guitar that we can cling to, then I’ll pick up the bass and we carve it out.”

For Diesel, writing and recording Sunset Suburbia has seen him take a new approach. “It’s come full circle though all the production work I’ve been doing with pop artists: just slamming ideas together and ‘oh, that’s sounds good, let’s go’. You get one little glimmer of gold and you follow the seam. That always been a kind of M.O. for me.”

Following the release of Sunset Suburbia, Diesel will hit the road once again, coming to a city, town or suburb near you with his 3 piece powerhouse band, showcasing songs from the new album, as well as his hits and fan-favourites spanning more than 30 years of music. 

Born in Fall River, Massachusetts, the youngest of seven from a sax playing electronics technician father and a mother in nursing, Mark Lizotte (aka Diesel) grew up in Australia and in the U.S, an ongoing transient lifestyle which eventually brought him to Arizona where he picked up cello through the local school. Seven years of classical training followed, during which the now “nuclear” family were drawn back to Perth, where, after eventually dropping the cello, he would pick up the guitar, and in 1986 form the band ‘Johnny Diesel & The Injectors’. Their eponymously titled debut album, recorded in Memphis with legendary producer Terry Manning, was the highest selling album that year and the highest selling debut album by any Australian artist at that time. Despite these accolades, and after two world tours, Diesel pulled the pin, embarking on a solo career in early ’91.

Diesel recently celebrated 30 years “off the bus”, landing in Sydney in 1987 after a 3-day bus journey across Australia and launching into 9 shows per week – the rest is history. With over 35 singles, 16 albums, 6 ARIA awards and record sales edging 1 million, Diesel is a journeyman of music.

With blues music in his DNA, an influence largely from his father’s record collection, Diesel has blended styles to come up with a truly unique sound, punctuated with his distinct guitar playing and vocals.


Forms Johnny Diesel & The Injectors in Perth, WA

Relocates band to Sydney. 
A studio meeting with future brother-in-law Jimmy Barnes secures guitar slot and support slot on the Freight Train Heart tour. 
JD&I tour constantly – playing in excess of 250 dates in nearly as many days

Recorded in Memphis TN, Johnny Diesel& The Injectors is released, winning 2 ARIA Awards. It becomes the highest selling debut by an Australian artist of all time to date, producing the singles ‘Don’t Need Love’, ‘Soul Revival’, ‘Lookin’ For Love’, ‘Since I Fell For You’, and ‘Cry In Shame’

After touring the world twice, embarks on a solo career and starts working on second album

Diesel Hepfidelity is released, debuting at #1 on the ARIA Chart and winning ARIA Awards for Best Album and Best Male Artist. Produces the singles ‘Love Junk’, ‘Come To Me’, ‘Tip Of My Tongue’, ‘Man Alive’, and ‘One More Time’. 

The Lobbyist is released, debuting at #1. It is a mixture of studio and live tracks, producing the singles ‘Never Miss Your Water’, ‘Masterplan’, and ‘I’ve Been Loving You Too Long’. 

Solid State Rhyme is released, achieving gold status. Produces singles ‘All Come Together’, ’15 Feet Of Snow’, and ‘Get It On’. 

Wilson Diesel Short Cool Ones is released, a collaboration with Australian blues harp and vocal icon Chris Wilson. It is the first Australian blues album to achieve gold status. 
Diesel relocates to New York City.

Rewind-Diesel is released; a collection of his 17 singles so far. 

Lost Soul Companion is released, under his own name Mark Lizotte. Recorded in NYC and San Francisco, it produces the singles ‘Dig’, ‘Satellite’, and what proves to become a crowd favourite, ‘Darling Of The Universe’.

Hear is released, producing the singles ‘Angel Face’ and ‘Battleworm’. 

The First Fifteen ’89-’04Live DVD is released. Recorded at Sydney’s Metro Theatre, is reaches gold status. 

Singled Out is released, a solo live recording which is the catalyst for Diesel embarking on a juggernaut solo tour – a tour that will establish him as a solo performer. 

Coathanger Antennae is released, producing the singles ‘Crazytown’, ‘Saviour’ and ‘Steal My Sunshine’.

Days Like These is released, producing the single of the same name. 

Prohect Blues Saturday Suffering Fools is released, a blues album featuring a horn selection make of up ex-Injector Bernie Bremond and family members Hank (father) and brothers Michael and Brian Lizotte. 

Under The Influence is released, a collection of Diesel’s favourite and influential guitar music, featuring tracks by Jimi Hendrix, Link Wray, Albert King, Neil Young and The Sonics. 

Diesel makes his score debut with 6 part series Bikie Wars – Brothers In Arms, contributing the theme track ‘Highway Mind’ and over 140 original score pieces. 

Let It Fly released

Americana is released

Diesel – 30: The Greatest Hits is released. 

Sunset Suburbia Vol. I and Vol. II EPs are released

Sunset Suburbia the album is released. 

Sunset Suburbia tracklist:
1. On The Inside
2. In Reverse
3. Come Back
4. NYC
5. I Found A Love
6. By The Scars
7. Quietly Drift
8. I’m Sold
9. Wake Up With An Angel
10. Sunset Suburbia

Sunset Suburbia 

Album out Friday 28 August 2020
Available to pre-order here