VIKA & LINDA release ‘AKILOTOA + catalogue now available for streaming for the first time

  • The first ever Vika & Linda best-of anthology, ‘Akilotoa | Anthology 1994-20is available today
  • Coinciding with the release of ‘Akilotoa, their entire back catalogue is now available to stream and download on all digital platforms
  • Vika & Linda will host a virtual album launch, with a live performance and Q&A with Brian Nankervis, to be live streamed on their Facebook on Sunday 21 June at 11am 

Today, Vika & Linda release their first ever best-of anthology, ‘Akilotoa | Anthology 1994-2006. Alongside the release of ‘Akilotoa, Vika & Linda have also made their illustrious back catalogue available for streaming and download for the very first time. 

In November last year, Vika & Linda Bull were inducted into the Music Victoria Hall Of Fame, joining an elite list of Victorian music luminaries such as AC/DC, Olivia Newton-John, Chrissy Amphlett, Renée Geyer, Paul Kelly, and John Farnham. This was not surprising: if God’s best instrument is the human voice, then Vika & Linda are two superb examples. Their voices showcase assertive power blended with a finely tuned sense of timing, knowing when to pull back and allow tenderness to shine. In 2020, Vika & Linda are the refined product of a life of singing together, and from working with the best to now being among the best in the Australian music business. 

To celebrate the release of ‘Akilotoa and their catalogue becoming available, Vika & Linda are holding a virtual launch party on their Facebook on Sunday 21 June. The ladies will perform fan requests live, and Brian Nankervis will host a Q&A. 

On stage and in the studio, Vika & Linda continue to seek diverse and exciting challenges. They will enter the studio with producer Steven Schram and musical director Cameron Bruce next month, to record their first full length album of original material in 18 years.

Vika & Linda discography 
Now available on all download and streaming services

Vika & Linda (1994) 
Vika & Linda’s self-titled debut album was a top 10 Australian smash, hitting #7 (#16 in New Zealand) and certified platinum by ARIA. Produced by Paul Kelly, who also wrote five of the 12 songs, the album also features tracks written by Mark Seymour, Joe Camilleri, Stephen Cummings and Nick Barker. Four singles were released: ‘When Will You Fall For Me’, ‘House of Love’ (a top 40 hit in New Zealand), ‘Hard Love’ and ‘We’ve Started A Fire’. The album was nominated at that year’s ARIA Awards in the Breakthrough Artist category with, Rolling Stone magazine saying, “the results here are frequently exceptional. The album is imbued with a warm inner glow and a genuine musical depth… Vika and Linda is a real feast.” 

Princess Tabu (1996)
Vika & Linda’s second studio album, Princess Tabu, was another top 40 hit in Australia and New Zealand. Recorded in Australia, Tonga and the UK, the album was produced by Vika & Linda alongside Jeremy Allom (Massive Attack), and Diesel behind the desk on a few tracks. The album featured three singles – ‘Love Comes Easy’, ‘The Parting Song’ and ‘Grandpa’s Song’. Princess Tabu scored Vika & Linda their second ARIA nomination, for Best Adult Contemporary Album. Ian McFarlane (The Encyclopedia of Australian Rock and Pop) wrote, “Princess Tabu was a purer reflection of the cultural strains and rich diversity of their heritage.”

Two Wings (1999)
Two Wings was Vika & Linda’s third top 40 hit in a row, and also gained them their third ARIA nomination. Produced by Paul Kelly and Renée Geyer, the album is a collection of spiritual songs, with covers of Bob Marley’s ‘Caution’, Nina Simone’s ‘Feeling Good’, Solomon Burke’s ‘Home In Your Heart’ and Mahalia Jackson’s ‘I’m On My Way’. The album also features Vika & Linda’s versions of Paul Kelly’s ‘If I Could Start Today Again’ and ‘Be Careful What You Pray For’, Archie Roach’s ‘Reach For You’ and Tim Rogers’ ‘Tied In Knots’. Billboard said, “the harmonies are luscious … the song choices are exquisite”.

Live & Acoustic (2000)
Live & Acoustic, the girls’ first live album, recorded at the Continental Café in Prahran, Melbourne. Vika & Linda were backed by co-producer Jeff Burstin on guitar, Bill McDonald on bass, and Gerry Hale on violin, mandolin, lap steel and backing vocals. Leading music critic Ed Nimmervoll said at the time, “this live album brings us back to the start, pure Vika & Linda, just singing together, as they always have and always will.”

Love Is Mighty Close (2002)
Produced by Jeff Burstin, Vika & Linda’s fourth studio album Love Is Mighty Close showcased songs by all-Australian writers including Paul Kelly, Rob Snarski, Chris Wilson, David McCormack, Barry Palmer with Caroline Kennedy, Stephen Cummings. Most of the songs were written especially for the duo, including Paul Kelly’s ‘To Be Good Takes A Long Time (To Be Bad No Time At All)’. Love Is Mighty Close was nominated for the Best Adult Contemporary Album ARIA.

Tell The Angels (2004)
Tell The Angels, Vika & Linda’s second live album, was recorded over a number of Sunday sessions at the Cornish Arms Hotel in Brunswick, Melbourne. A gospel collection, the album features stunning versions of ‘John the Revelator’ and The Staple Singers’ ‘Don’t Knock’. Tell The Angels spent a month in the top 10 on the Australian Independent charts. Radio National said the record “shows that the sisters’ voices are even more supple and accurate than ever before”.

Between Two Shores (2006)
Between Two Shores, Vika & Linda’s fifth studio album, was a Liberation Blue collection release, which saw them revisit some of the classic songs from their catalogue, including two Black Sorrows hits, ‘Chained To The Wheel’ and ‘Never Let Me Go’. Produced by Vika & Linda, Chris Bekker and Dion Hirini, the album was dedicated to their long-time bass player Stuart Speed, who died as the album was being made.

‘Akilotoa | Anthology 1994-2006 (2020)
‘Akilotoa, Vika & Linda’s 28 song anthology, gathers tracks from their five studio albums and two live albums. ‘Akilotoa features the much-loved singles ‘When Will You Fall For Me’, ‘House of Love’, ‘We’ve Started A Fire’, ‘Hard Love’ and ‘Love Comes Easy’. Also featured is The Black Sorrows smash that featured Vika on lead vocals, ‘Never Let Me Go’ from the classic album Harley & Rose, The Black Sorrows’ highest-charting album.

Akilotoa | Anthology 1994-2006
Vika & Linda

Album out now through Bloodlines
Available to buy/stream here

‘Akilotoa | Anthology 1994-2006 tracklisting:
1. Hard Love
2. When Will You Fall For Me
3. House Of Love
4. We’ve Started A Fire
5. Sacred Things
6. Ninety-Nine Years
7. I Know Where To Go To Feel Good
8. The Blue Hour
9. The Parting Song
10. Grandpa’s Song
11. Princess Tabu
12. ‘Akilotoa
13. I’m On My Way
14. Be Careful What You Pray For
15. God’s Little Birds
16. Reach For You
17. If I Could Start Today Again
18. Feeling Good
19. Two Wings (Live)
20. Love Is Mighty Close
21. To Be Good Takes A Long Time (To Be Bad No Time At All)
22. Slow Train
23. Who Rolled The Stone Away (Live)
24. Tell The Angels (Live)
25. Holy Waters (Acoustic)
26. Love Comes Easy (Acoustic)
27. Down On The Jetty
28. Never Let Me Go (with The Black Sorrows)